some food I’ve cooked lately, including a recipe for matcha (or lemon!) muffins for four (or two!)

I’ve been pushing myself lately to cook new dishes or dishes we don’t have often.  There’s only so many nights one can take of stir fry, perogies and chili before screaming enough is enough.

Pad thai:
IMG_0635
Baked omelette:
IMG_0645
Matcha or Lemon Muffins (makes four muffins)
IMG_0654
Too often we’re in the mood for something sweet, but I don’t necessarily want to make a dozen of whatever.  Or a whole cake.  And I don’t always want to use eggs either (I prefer to eat them as eggs and enjoy them!).  So a quick websearch pulled up a recipe for vegan matcha muffins, that I unveganafied by using cow milk. I also got excited about the recipe as it uses weights rather than volumes (less to clean up!).  Dave wasn’t crazy about the idea of matcha flavored muffins, so I whipped up some lemon flavored ones for him.

Preheat oven to 375F.

In a small bowl, mix together:

4.5oz all purpose flour (I like to use unbleached)
1.5oz  sugar
1 heaped tsp matcha powder (or the grated rind of a lemon, if you prefer lemon)
1tsp baking powder
pinch salt

In a small measuring cup, mix together:

4.5oz  milk (I used 2% cow’s milk, because that’s what we keep at home)
1.5oz  oil (I used canola oil)

Quickly mix the liquids into the dry ingredients.  The batter will be fairly thick.  Divide between four muffin cups (either greased or lined with muffin liners).  Bake for 20 minutes.

To make icing, beat together with an electric mixer:

1 tsp butter
1 tsp milk
1 tsp  matcha powder (or more grated lemon rind)
About 4 heaped tbs icing sugar

Frost cooled muffins.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in food, home, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

