Farmer’s market strawberries: jam, two ways

A few weeks ago I found myself with some free time in the middle of the week, during the day, having taken the day off to run an errand that ran a lot shorter than it could have.  So not wanting to waste a metro ticket, I stopped off at the Jean-Talon metro, and perused the fruits and veggies (yes, I know, transfer are supposed to be for a one way trip, but what am I supposed to do if the computers on the buses interpret my trip as one way?  I’m just going to go with it).  There’s finally starting to be lots of local produce, and I came home with a half crate of strawberries.  I froze some, ate some as is, and the rest became jam:

IMG_1084

I made two different types: Strawberry Jalapeno, and Strawberry Balsamic Black Pepper.  Despite the comments on allrecipes saying otherwise, strawberry jalapeno is super hot!  I’m thinking it’s because the recipe doesn’t say whether to keep the seeds or not, and I did, figuring a bit of heat would be good.  And it’s super hot.  Next time, I would probably removed most seeds.  The strawberry balsamic black pepper is delicious!  I would totally leave out the black pepper next time and not even mention there’s balsamic in it and just call it strawberry jam, its that good.

This entry was posted in food, recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

