CSA Week 3

Here’s this week’s goodies, waiting for me to open the front door.  Lots of greens this week!

IMG_1139

And stuffed into my now very full fridge:

IMG_1144

Yes, I probably should bag the rest of those loose greens for storage.  I’m hoping to plow through a bunch of them in the next day or so, so I don’t have to 🙂  Our CSA recommends soaking greens in cold water upon arriving home, drying them off and storing them in bags in the fridge.  I’ve been using ziploc veggies storage bags, and have been quite happy, except for the fact that giant heads of lettuce or cabbage don’t fit.  I have been cutting off the greens of root veggies (kolhrabi, beets, etc) and stuffing them in a bag together for cooking, so that they don’t wilt (which they generally do if left on the root veggies).

Which reminds me, does anyone have any veggie storage tips to share?  I’m all ears!

So moving onto what we got this week:

  • leafy green lettuce
  • chinese cabbage (i’m pretty sure it’s napa, our CSA lists it as “chou chinois”)
  • spinach
  • snap peas
  • a zucchini
  • bright red swiss chard
  • bok choy
  • beets
  • basil

 To write it out, it doesn’t seem like a lot, but my bag is definitely starting to get heavier!  And my fridge getting more full!  I’m looking forward to cooking up a big bowl of garlicky greens for breakfast one morning, and topping it with a poached egg.  Yum!  

This past week we had quite a few really good meals, including a meal of stir fry tofu with veggies and rice noodles.  I put all kinds of odds and ends remaining from previous weeks: turnips, radishes, greens, garlic scapes, etc.  So delicious!  We also had a really delicious salad (gotta use up those greens!) topped with avocado and shrimp amongst other things:

IMG_1136

I made homemade thousand island dressing to top it, since we didn’t have any premade in the fridge.  It was super easy, using ingredients I normally keep around: mayonnaise, ketchup, relish and seasoning (I used salt, pepper and hot sauce).  Added them all to a mason jar, shook like crazy, thinned with a bit of water and shook some more!  Now we’ll never be without thousand island dressing.

This post is linked up with What’s in the Box.  Want to see what other people got in their “boxes” this week?  Go check it out!

This entry was posted in CSA, food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to CSA Week 3

  1. For large heads of lettuce, I break off every leaf to soak in a bowl of water. Then I line them up on an old beach or bath towel, and cover them with another towel to dry off for 1 to 2 hrs. This ensures that they are really dried off. Final steps are to layer them in a large sealed container with paper towel. Trust me, it really works!

    • Amanda C says:

      You must have a really big surface to work on! I often do something similar when I have time (why does CSA day mean lots of evening activities day too?), but I used a salad spinner and a dishcloth, because that’s all the counter space I’ve got 🙂 I like individual leaves because it means all I have to do is chop and eat. I guess it’s either do it all at once, or do it a bit at a time, but it works out to the same thing at the end (or probably less if I did it all right away).

  2. Tammy says:

    Looks good. Anxious to hear what you do with that cabbage.

  3. inherchucks says:

    Thanks for linking up! That is quite a bounty 🙂

    Homemade Thousand Island? Sounds amazing!

  4. fluffybuttfarms says:

    I actually leave my chard in a bowl of water in the fridge until ready to use. It keeps it crisp and I’ve never had it affect the chard negatively. Without the water, the chard gets limp quickly. You just submerge the whole thing, leaves and stems and all, under water and then when you’re ready to use, drain.

    • Amanda C says:

      I’m going to have to try that. Growing up I was spoiled: my parents grow swiss chard in their garden, so no need to worry about storing it, the garden stored it for us! Fast forward many years, and I’m still trying to figure out the best way to do things. This sounds good!

Leave a Reply

