It’s tomato time! Tomato tart

So the weekly CSA haul lists are not happening.  But the produce is still coming in!  Just off the top of my head, last week we got: tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, a leek, a watermelon, corn, cherry tomatoes . . .  and the list goes on!

Ricotta/feta/sour cream tomato tart

I have a board over on pinterest where I occasionally pin ideas and recipes that use veggies I know I’ll get from my CSA.  One of these is a Tomato and Goat Cheese Tart.  I had some leftover pie crust that really needed to be used up, so I looked through the fridge to see what else was hanging about and was happy to see I had ricotta, sour cream and feta in small quantities all waiting to be used up.  So here’s what I did: I followed the recipe more or less except for the filling part, which I made by mixing a bit of ricotta, some grumbled mild feta, a bunch of sour cream and an egg (it was looking a bit liquidy so I figured that would help firm it up). I had a part of a leek leftover from something else, so I chopped it up and sauteed it and added that to the filing.  I added in some chopped fresh basil, salt, pepper and a pinch of hot pepper.  Then I layered on the tomato as per the recipe.  Baked for about 30 minutes.

And how was it?  Delicious!  It’s good both warm and cold, and quite hearty.

This entry was posted in CSA, food, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s tomato time! Tomato tart

  1. Tammy says:

    I love tomato tarts! Yum. Yours is beautiful.

  2. inherchucks says:

    This looks amazing! I want a bite NOW 🙂

    Come and share your delicious recipe with the rest of the CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/23/whats-in-the-box-40/. Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

