CSA started this week!

Here is all the loot from this week (#1!) pickup:

2013.06.19 - week #1 csa haul

It feels so good to get back into getting weekly farm baskets.  I had been doing weekly Lufa baskets in anticipation of the local (outdoor) CSA season starting up, and while they are a lot of fun, and a great service, they just aren’t the same.  There’s something about having a direct relationship with the farm (it’s my fourth year!  you get to know people after awhile!), and learning what is currently being harvested locally from the ground that makes it special.

This year my CSA did something new and very special: they had a seedling day!  The timing really wasn’t working out for me, but I’m so glad I made the necessary arrangements to attend.  It was held out at the farm in Farnham smack in the middle of May, so I dropped Dave off at his motorcycle lessons and braved the traffic (half the lanes on the Champlain bridge were closed for construction).  And I’m so glad I made the effort because it was very exciting seeing the farm (previous year’s visits had similarly bad timing), and also to buy seedlings to plant at home.

Untitled
Untitled

Here is one of several planters on my balcony.  This one is filled with lettuce.  Others have spinach, herbs and more lettuce.  There’s a certain sense of pride of digging into lunch when I know the lettuce in my salad was grown on my balcony.

2013.06.13 - balcony farm

This entry was posted in CSA, excursion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CSA started this week!

  1. Tammy says:

    Your balcony salad is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

