2014, what a year! 2015, the year I eat pickled beets on a regular basis!

P1040357

I year during which I only posted once.  Yup, just once.  And what a busy year it was!  I didn’t even finish any quilts, though I did make lots of progress on a massive one due to be completed soon.  I also did a ton of canning during the late summer and early fall, something I’ve been enjoying ever since.

Today I finally got around to doing something that has been on my to-do list for awhile: make pickled turnips! You know those pink crunchy spears in lebanese pitas?  Yup, those ones.  Unlike dill pickles and strawberry jam, there aren’t tons of recipes floating around the internet.  Most of the ones I’ve found have been refrigerator pickles, which is all fine and dandy, but if I’m going to go to the work of working with beets, I’m want to be able to enjoy the benefits for a long time.  Plus, I can imagine getting all pickled turniped out at some point.  So I cobbled together a few recipes I found and went according to taste and experience.  I can’t recommend you follow my recipe, because canning is tricky like that and you should always follow a tested recipe (or at least that’s what all the guidelines tell you), but when a tested recipe doesn’t exist . . . proceed at your own risk. I am trying to be better about recording my cooking experiments, in the hopes that I can recreate or tweak them in the future.

So here are my notes I took:

P1040360

Translated so I can remember what I did later:

– Cut turnips into batons, garlic into thin slices and beets into slices.

– Place turnips in jars along with a few pieces of garlic, beets and a pinch of dried hot peppers (I like things hot).  (Note to self: it seems some of the jars don’t have enough beets to make the turnips pink to my liking, check again over time to see how much colour transfers and adjust in future as necessary).

– Make a brine and heat.  Pour into jars, wipe rims, put on lids and process in boiling water bath for 15 minutes.  Proceed as usual.

This entry was posted in food, home, recipe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

